What did theMednet achieve in 2019?

news Jan 02, 2020

2019 was a big year for theMednet! Check out all the things we've accomplished below, from grant funding to a new mobile app to our gynecologic oncology launch!

Over the past year:

  • We were awarded a National Science Foundation grant to create technology that raises awareness of cancer clinical trials. We presented this research at the NIH in July. You can see the talk here.
  • We presented the 2 ½ year results of our NCI-CCC Tumor Board program at the 2019 ASCO Quality Care Symposium. We shared knowledge and discussions from 15 tumor boards at top cancer centers with over 4,000 oncologists around the country. If you want to browse through the NCI-CCC tumor board Q&A, you can access them here.
  • We launched theMednet in Gynecologic Oncology, and already 30% of gyn oncs around the country have signed up!
  • We launched theMednet app! It is available for both iOS and Android.
  • We worked with ASCO to run journal clubs with the Journal of Clinical Oncology focused on the Oncology Grand Rounds series. View our journal club Q&A here.

In 2020, we plan to build on these initiatives and launch new ones to continue our mission to help each other to deliver the best care to our patients.

Thank you all for being a part of our growing community! An extra special thank you goes to our team of Editors, Associates, NCI-CCC tumor board leaders, (listed below) and Experts (listed here) who have been a part of theMednet over the past year:

Deputy Editors

Lindsay Burt, MD, University of Utah, Radiation Oncology

Joseph Merriman, MD, Vanderbilt, Medical Oncology

Anthony Bejjani, MD, UCLA, Medical Oncology

Christina Washington, MD, University of Oklahoma, Gynecologic Oncology

Associate Editors

Jason Ye, MD, USC, Head and Neck Cancers (rad onc)

Brandon Mancini, MD, MBA, University of Michigan, Palliation, Melanoma/Skin (rad onc)

Shane Lloyd, MD, University of Utah, Gastrointestinal Malignancies (rad onc)

David Ly, MD, UH Seidman Cancer Center, Genitourinary Malignancies (rad onc)

Ann Raldow, MD, MPH, UCLA, Hematologic Malignancies (rad onc)

Spencer Bachow, MD, Florida Atlantic University, Hematologic Malignancies (med onc)

Kelly McCann, MD, PhD, UCLA, Gynecologic Malignancies (med onc)

Omar Ragab, MD, USC, Gynecologic Malignancies (rad onc)

Christopher T. Wilke, MD, PhD, University of Minnesota, Neuro-oncology (rad onc)

Krisha Howell, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Sarcoma (rad onc)

Dwight Owen, MD, Ohio State, Thoracic Malignancies (med onc)

Sonya Reid, MD, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Breast Cancer (med onc)

John Lucas, MD, MS, St. Jude, Pediatric Cancers (rad onc)

Diana Pierre, MD, University of California Irvine, Gynecologic Malignancies (gyn onc)

Christie Hancock, MD, Advocate Health, Breast cancer (med onc)

John Baird, MD, Stanford University, Hematologic Malignancies (med onc)

Kiri Cook, MD, Oregon Health and Science University, Breast Cancer (rad onc)

Devika Rao, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Gastrointestinal Malignancies (med onc)

Rebecca Levin-Epstein, MD, University of California Los Angeles, Thoracic Malignancies (rad onc)

Lauren Lee, MD, San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium, Sarcoma (med onc)

Ali Khaki, MD, University of Washington School of Medicine, Genitourinary Malignancies (med onc)

Arjun Gupta, MBBS, Johns Hopkins University, Supportive and Palliative Care (med onc)

Charles Bodine, MD, University of Alabama Birmingham, Gastrointestinal Malignancies (med onc)

Marina Sharifi, MD, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Melanoma and Head & Neck Cancers (med onc)

Fellows, Residents, and Community Associates

Sameer Desai, MD, Center for Hematology and Oncology (med onc)

Timothy Waxweiler, MD, University of Colorado (rad onc)

Ankit Modh, MD, Henry Ford Health System (rad onc)

Mohamad Fakhreddine, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (rad onc)

Joseph Maly, MD, Norton Cancer Institute (med onc)

Shana Coplowitz, MD, St. Anthony's Medical Center (rad onc)

Lauren Tait, MD, Coastal Radiation Oncology (rad onc)

Jamie McClain, MD, East Carolina University (med onc)

Parul Barry, MD, Rush University (rad onc)

Ashwin Shinde, MD, City of Hope National Medical Center (rad onc)

Na Smith, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic (rad onc)

Kimberly Gergelis, MD, Mayo Clinic Hospital (rad onc)

Nagla Abdel Karim, MD, Augusta University (med onc)

Yazhini Vallatharasu, MD, Gundersen Health System (med onc)

Salman Punekar, MD, NYU Langone Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center
(med onc)

Lindsey Buckingham, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (gyn onc)

Melissa Lippitt, MD, MPH, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (gyn onc)

NCI-CCC Program

Maitri Kalra, MBBS, NCI-CCC Program Manager

Jean Alvarez, MD, MS, Ohio State University NCI-CCC Associate Editor

Robert Wesolowski, MD, Ohio State University Breast Tumor Board site leader

Sausan Abouharb, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center Breast Tumor Board site leader

Praveen Vikas, MD, University of Iowa Breast Tumor Board site leader

Meghna Trivedi, MD, Columbia University Breast Tumor Board site leader

Kelly McCann, MD, PhD UCLA Breast Tumor Board site leader

Sarah Mougalian, MD, Yale Breast Tumor Board site leader

Mei Wei, MD, University of Utah Breast Tumor Board site leader

Avan Armaghani, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center Breast Tumor Board site leader

Amanda Parkes, MD, University of Wisconsin Breast Tumor Board site leader

Frederick Wilson, MD, PhD, Yale Thoracic Tumor Board site leader

Wade Iams, MD, Vanderbilt Thoracic Tumor Board site leader

Gregory Durm, MD, Indiana University Thoracic Tumor Board site leader

Angel Qin, MD, University of Michigan Thoracic Tumor Board site leader

Michael Cecchini, MD, Yale GI Tumor Board site leader

Paul Kunk, MD, University of Virginia GI Tumor Board site leader

Sam Lubner, MD, University of Wisconsin GI Tumor Board site leader

Kristen Spencer, DO, MPH, Rutgers GI Tumor Board site leader

Priya Pathak, MD, Indiana University GI Tumor Board site leader

Nadine Housri

Among with Samir Housri

Dr. Nadine Housri is the Co-founder and Chief Medical Officer of theMednet and an Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology at Yale.